Skip to content

Tutorial: Cleaning your WLM Contact List

June 23, 2009

Over the years you will find that your contact list gets cluttered. You’ve deleted people, blocked people or even both. Maybe others have deleted you, blocked you or both. For the people that have blocked or deleted you…why bother keeping them on your contact list?

Why not delete them? But then how do you tell who’s actually blocked and/or deleted you?

I present Noroom’s ListCleaner. I’ve had this app for many years now, although never bothered to share it with anybody. The original author no longer supports it, I would love to see it ported to a nice .net application or even the features incorporated into Messenger Plus! Live. Maybe I can write a script for it ūüėõ

Here’s the description from the readme.

Often, whenOften, when u sign in to Messenger, the server sends a list with containing
users who have permission to see you online, who do not have permission, who
have you on their contact list, and who you have on yours. Sometimes you delete
some users, and people delete you from their list, too. Even though they don’t
have you on their list anymore, their email will stay on the list of people who
can see you online. Why allow them to see you online, if they don’t have you on
their list anymore? It is pointless to give them persmission to see your status
when they don’t have the ability to do so.
Now, let’s say you block someone and then delete that user from your list.
Imagine that the person you blocked also deletes you. That person’s email will
stay in your block list, even though it is not likely they will talk to you,
because you are not on their contact list anymore.sign in to Messenger, the server sends a list with containing
users who have permission to see you online, who do not have permission, who
have you on their contact list, and who you have on yours. Sometimes you delete
some users, and people delete you from their list, too. Even though they don’t
have you on their list anymore, their email will stay on the list of people who
can see you online. Why allow them to see you online, if they don’t have you on
their list anymore? It is pointless to give them persmission to see your status
when they don’t have the ability to do so.
Now, let’s say you block someone and then delete that user from your list.
Imagine that the person you blocked also deletes you. That person’s email will
stay in your block list, even though it is not likely they will talk to you,
because you are not on their contact list anymore.

“Often, when u sign in to Messenger, the server sends a list with containing¬†users who have permission to see you online, who do not have permission, who¬†have you on their contact list, and who you have on yours. Sometimes you delete¬†some users, and people delete you from their list, too. Even though they don’t¬†have you on their list anymore, their email will stay on the list of people who¬†can see you online. Why allow them to see you online, if they don’t have you on¬†their list anymore? It is pointless to give them persmission to see your status¬†when they don’t have the ability to do so.¬†Now, let’s say you block someone and then delete that user from your list.¬†Imagine that the person you blocked also deletes you. That person’s email will¬†stay in your block list, even though it is not likely they will talk to you,¬†because you are not on their contact list anymore.”

All you have to do is download the app and login with your WLM account. The app will then collate all the people that you can delete. Simple!

I know this isn’t much of a tutorial but it’s something that I thought people would find useful. I bet most people would be quite surprised at the results.

Too bad it’s not opensource, I would love to take a quick look under the hood of that application.

In case you missed the download link above here it is again.

DOWNLOAD

Advertisements

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Cat permalink

    Sorry John but I make a point of never EVER giving my msn login details to anything other than Windows Live Messenger

    • Haha that’s a pretty strong point Cat. Don’t worry, I won’t do anything malicious with your information ūüėČ

  2. Aaron permalink

    wow, i was really confused there for a minute then realised u changed your blog’s theme. The other one was better!

    Personally, i doubt clearing a few ppl from your list is going to speed up msn logins by any significant amount as this app claims. I will do a quick check with wireshark in a sec to have a look tho (assuming it’s plaintext).

    Also no vista support it seems ūüė¶ (are u using it on win7?)

    • Rofl it doesn’t say anything about “significant” decreases in sign-in speeds, and note…this app was written back in the days of 512kbps ADSL or even dial-up, nevertheless, it should work in Vista, as it works on 7.

      It’s just somewhat nicer to know that your contact list is cleaner.

  3. Manish permalink

    Hi John!

    Will this act as “Deny A Buddy” for WL Messenger? I mean, will I be able to remove my contact (email address) from other’s list?

    • I don’t quite understand you. This simply removes any contacts that have either deleted you or blocked you on THEIR contact list.

  4. Manish permalink

    Hi again!

    Will it some sort of spam????

  5. Manish permalink

    Thanks for patiently replying, John! Even I want to get rid of ‘so called friends’!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: